A Neighbor of Unquestionable Honor

@lkkelley1
@lkkelley1 #Author of the White Wolf Prophecy Trilogy

Rarely do I do this, but today, I’m going to skip plugging my book, and tell you about an unbelievable neighbor of mine.

His name is Wilbur, and he’s probably between 80 and 90 years old.  Wilbur moved into the house next door about a year ago.  It was quite some time before I got to meet him, but when I did, I absolutely loved the little old man!  One day, while going to the mailbox, I saw Wilbur slowly trotting out to his box as well.  At that point, I went over to him, and introduced myself.  I spoke with him for a while, and he was not only kind, but he had something that is quite rare these days.  He had absolutely flawless manners!  We spoke for a while, and just before I went inside, I welcomed him to the neighborhood.

The more I got to know him, the more amazed I was.  I have rarely encountered someone so kind, and yet so humble that I doubt he even realizes it!

For a few months, we noticed that our trashcan had been moved up to the house, and while we suspected he had done it, we had no proof. And, since I didn’t see him that much, I never had a chance to ask.  But, he mowed his own lawn and did his own shopping.  It was a total surprise to me.  But, there was one tiny problem with the lawn.  The area between our houses is a steep hill, and he had trouble mowing it.  So, we decided to do it for him.  We just didn’t tell him. Much later, he came out to thank us for doing that for him.

Next thing I knew, he brought my trashcan up to the house after the garbage men emptied it.  We were puzzled, at first, wondering who would do such a kind thing.

And, then…nothing.  I didn’t see him for a very long time.  We were worried about him, but one day, he pulled out of his driveway, and waved.  We knew his children were watching out for him, but we wondered if maybe he’d been to the hospital for a while.  Never did find out.

Today, I saw Wilbur barely making it out to his mailbox with his cane – very slowly.  I drove into the driveway, and got out of the car.  He said, “Hi!”  and I responded in the same way.

Now, guys…here’s the rub!  This little old extremely kind man apologized to me!  Why?  Because he said that he hadn’t been bringing in my trashcan (which I had noticed recently) as he normally did!  He told me it was because he was “crippled” at the moment.  I almost dropped my mouth in shock.

Wilbur was APOLOGIZING for not bringing in my trashcan – that he very kindly had been doing!?  I was flabbergasted!  So much so, I thanked him for the kindness of doing it!  He apologized yet again, and I smiled and told him not to worry about it at all, and just to get some rest!  He didn’t need to do it – ever – yet, he was sorry he couldn’t do it lately!

I don’t know about you, but honestly, given what we hear every single day, having this man next to me is a true blessing!  I will never forget him as long as I live.  Such a simple gesture, and yet, he is the epitome of humble.  If he is like this, now, ladies…well…all I can say he would be the kind of man any of us would have fallen for head over heels if he was younger.

This type of kindness is so hard to find any more, it’s very sad that we are shocked when it does happen!

Manners and kindness will get someone somewhere so much faster than without them. All of us know others who wouldn’t lift a finger to help a cashier put a gallon of milk in their basket, or others who push up a cart loaded with the heaviest items possible, and leave to sit down waiting on a cashier to move them.  Others are rude to everyone, and there attitude is that of “I’m better than you”, and have no problem insulting others!  Even a cashier I know was told “You’re nothing but a cashier” by a customer!

But, this little old man goes out of his way to drag in a trashcan for his neighbor just because he wants to save her the trouble!  Wilbur beats out most others by this simple kindness.

I’ve always said that being kind and nice to others may seem outdated and old-fashioned, but quite frankly?  I’d rather sound outdated than join the rudeness of much of our society today.

It is said that one good deed deserves another, and Wilbur’s simple gesture snowballed with his neighbors. Wilbur is a true inspiration to all of us, and I’m honored just to have met him!  So, I just had to tell you guys all about my next door Neighbor who has what I call –

Unquestionable Honor!  

LK Kelley

Leave a Reply

